Cookie
Electronic Team uses cookies to personalize your experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our cookie policy. Click here to learn more.

Le meilleur lecteur MXF pour Mac

Pourquoi est-il si difficile de lire des fichiers MXF sur Mac ? MXF est un format de conteneur de qualité professionnelle pour les données vidéo et audio. Il se caractérise par une structure de données inhabituelle, ce qui rend le format plus adapté aux applications commerciales - par exemple, dans l'industrie de la télévision. On le trouve aussi fréquemment sur les caméscopes. Avec Elmedia Player, vous pouvez facilement lire des fichiers MXF sur Mac.

Meilleur choix
Elmedia Player Free
4.8 Classement basé sur 1531+ utilisateurs, Revue(793)
MXF player Mac

Visionneuse MXF gratuite, sans décalage - Elmedia Player

Elmedia Player est un lecteur vidéo MXF spécialisé, et il est assez simple pour être utilisable par n'importe qui. Le lecteur peut ouvrir facilement les fichiers .mxf des caméscopes des séries Panasonic P2, Canon XF et Sony XDCAM.

Visionneuse MXF gratuite
De plus, il offre une lecture sans faille pour FLV, MKV, MP4, AVI, MP3, OGG, M4A, AAC, F4V et bien d'autres formats. De plus, ce meilleur lecteur vidéo gratuit pour Mac offre une excellente option pour diffuser vos fichiers locaux sur une Smart TV avec prise en charge des sous-titres internes et externes.

Comment lire des fichiers MXF sur Mac gratuitement

1. Obtenez Elmedia Player sur ce site.

MXF player Mac

2. Ajoutez vos fichiers MXF.

Vous disposez de plusieurs options pour ajouter des fichiers :

  • Faites glisser le fichier MXF choisi sur la fenêtre du lecteur ou son icône Dock.
  • Cliquez avec le bouton droit sur un fichier MXF dans le Finder ; choisissez "Ouvrir avec", puis "Elmedia Player".
  • Ouvrez le menu "Fichier" dans Elmedia Player, puis naviguez pour trouver votre fichier.
comment afficher les fichiers MXF sur Mac

3. Affichez vos fichiers sans aucun décalage.

Qu'est-ce que le MXF ?

Material Exchange Format, puisque c'est le nom complet de ce format vidéo, est devenu de plus en plus populaire de jour en jour avec la sortie de nombreuses caméras 4K. Mais le concept de MXF existe depuis un certain temps, étant défini comme un format "wrapper" qui prend en charge plusieurs flux d'"essence" codée. Ces flux peuvent être codés avec de nombreux codecs différents et incluent également un wrapper de métadonnées.

Le ormat de fichier MXF rassemble les données audio, vidéo et de programmation et les rassemble dans un wrapper. Grâce à sa complexité, MXF peut contenir une gamme étendue d'images vidéo, remplies d'essences audio et de données, ainsi que de métadonnées basées sur des images. Les métadonnées basées sur les images concernent principalement le format de fichier et les informations de code temporel pour chacune des images vidéo individuelles, également appelées fichiers multimédias entrelacés.

Étant principalement utilisé dans les productions télévisées et les films, le MFX peut gérer de nombreux formats de création avancés, le tout dans le cadre d'une politique appelée directive zéro divergence. Cela devrait permettre des flux de travail mixtes MXF et AAF entre le montage non linéaire, ce qui en fait des productions télévisuelles de haute qualité parfaites.

MXF vs MP4 : une comparaison

La principale distinction entre MXF et MP4 est leur utilisation prévue. MXF, abréviation de Material Exchange Format, a été conçu pour la télévision professionnelle, et certaines caméras enregistrent aujourd'hui des vidéos dans ce format. MP4, également connu sous le nom de MPEG-4 Part 14, a été développé par le Moving Picture Experts Group pour une utilisation quotidienne. C'est la principale raison pour laquelle les fichiers MP4 sont si courants et faciles à utiliser. Pour une comparaison plus avancée entre les fichiers MXF et MP4, vous pouvez consulter le tableau ci-dessous :

Paramètre de comparaison MXF MP4
Développeur Société des ingénieurs du cinéma et de la télévision Groupe d'experts en images animées
Extension de fichier .mxf .mp4
Codecs vidéo MPEG-1,2,4, H.264, DV, non compressé, autres H.263, H.264, H.265, MPEG‑4, les autres
Codecs audio AAC, MP3, AC‑3, PCM, les autres AAC, MP3, AC‑3, ALAC, ALS, SLS, les autres
Usage Publicités et programmes de diffusion à la télévision, stockage des enregistrements vidéo des caméras Sony et Canon Stockage de fichiers vidéo et diffusion de vidéos à partir d'Internet

Comment MXF se compare-t-il aux autres formats de médias ?

MXF n'est pas vraiment conçu pour la convivialité. C'est un format volumineux avec beaucoup de frais généraux, peu adapté à un usage personnel. Les caméscopes utilisent MXF pour éviter l'obsolescence - les nouveaux modèles ont tendance à être livrés avec des codecs plus récents et plus rapides. Ce n'est pas le cas sur PC et Mac, où les codecs ont tendance à rester pendant des décennies. Dans l'ensemble, vous ne verrez pas MXF remplacer MP4 ou MKV de si tôt.

Caméscopes typiques utilisant MXF

Alors que les fabricants de caméras commencent à s'adapter à l'Ultra HD, le MXF devient de plus en plus nécessaire. Les principaux fabricants l'ont adopté comme norme pour leur matériel d'enregistrement. Voici une liste de caméscopes prenant en charge MXF 4K :

Sony PMW-160, PMW-300K1, PMW-100, PMW-F55, PMW-320K, PMW-200,PMW-F5, PMW-F3, PDW-530, PMW-F3K,PDW-510, PMW-EX30, PMW-400L, PMW-500, PMW-F3L, PMW-400K, P, PMW-50, PMW-1000, MW-TD300, PXW-Z100, XDCAM HD422.

FAQ

C'est ici que nous répondrons à certaines des questions les plus fréquemment posées concernant les fichiers Mac MXF, ainsi que leurs fonctionnalités et leur compatibilité avec les systèmes d'exploitation et les besoins des utilisateurs. Cependant, si vous avez des questions supplémentaires, n'hésitez pas à les laisser dans la section des commentaires ci-dessous, et nous y répondrons aussi rapidement que possible.

Oui, MXF fait partie des types de fichiers pris en charge par VLC, donc si vous avez installé VLC Media Player, tout ce que vous avez à faire est de faire glisser les fichiers MXF dans la fenêtre principale afin de les lire.

Téléchargez simplement le fichier et exécutez-le, puis suivez les instructions à l'écran pour l'installer.

Téléchargez un fichier vidéo MXF pour la conversion. Ouvrez le convertisseur Movavi, puis cliquez sur Ajouter un média puis sur Ajouter une vidéo.

Sélectionnez le Format de votre choix. Cliquez sur Vidéo, puis choisissez la sortie souhaitée pour le format vidéo. Et c'est tout, il suffit de convertir le fichier MXF en MP4.

Elmedia Player Free
Configuration requise: macOS 10.12+ , 89.2MB espace disponible
Version 8.8(3188) (le 19 Sept, 2022) Notes de mise à jour
Catégorie: MultimediaApplication

Cookie
Eltima IBC uses cookies to personalize your experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our cookie policy. Click here to learn more.
MXF Players Can’t Measure up to This App - Elmedia Player
  • View footage from any camcorder
  • Open countless other media formats
  • Cast via AirPlay and DLNA; connect to Chromecast
Top choice
Elmedia Player Free
4.8 Rank based on 131+ users, Reviews(131)
MXF player Mac

An MXF Player You Can Count On


Why is it so difficult to play MXF files? MXF is a professional-grade container format for video and audio data. It is characterized by an unusual data structure, which makes the format more suitable for commercial applications - for example, in the TV industry. It is also frequently found on camcorders.

While MXF may be great for professionals, it offers little benefit to an ordinary user. Good MXF players are few and far between. A garden-variety media player will struggle with the files, exhibiting a great deal of lag. Fortunately, we know just the right solution.

Free MXF Viewer, Lag-free - Elmedia Player

Elmedia logo
Elmedia Player
Requirements: macOS 10.12+. 104MB free space. Version 8.0(2800). (20 Jun, 2021). 4.8 Reviews(131)
Category: MultimediaApplication

Elmedia Player is a specialized MXF video player, and it’s straightforward enough to be usable by anyone. The player can open .mxf files from camcorders of Panasonic P2, Canon XF and Sony XDCAM series with ease.

Free MXF Viewer
Additionally, it offers flawless playback for FLV, MKV, MP4, AVI, MP3, OGG, M4A, AAC, F4V and many more formats. You can easily watch online videos on YouTube, Vimeo, Dailymotion and other resources directly from Elmedia, without any ads. What’s more, this best free video player for Mac offers a great option to stream your local files to a Smart TV. Not to mention many other great settings.

How to Play MXF files on Mac for Free

1. Get Elmedia Player, either on this website or on the App Store.

blank

2. Add your MXF files.

You have some options when it comes to adding files:

  • Drag the chosen MXF file onto the player window or its Dock icon.
  • Right-click an MXF file in Finder; choose "Open With", and then "Elmedia Player".
  • Open the "File" menu in Elmedia Player, then browse to find your file.

How to play MXF files on Mac

3. View your files with no lag whatsoever.

blank

What is MXF?

Material Exchange Format, since that’s the full name of this video format became more popular by the day with the release of a lot of 4K cameras. But the concept of MXF exists for quite some time, being defined as a ‘wrapper’ format that supports multiple streams of coded ‘essence’. These streams can be coded with many different codecs and also includes a metadata wrapper.

The MXF file format brings together audio, video and programming data and puts them together in a wrapper. Thanks to its complexity, MXF can hold an extended range of video frames, filled with audio and data essance, as well as frame-based metadata. The frame-based metadata is mostly about file format and timecode information for each of the individual video frames, also known as interleaved media files.

Being mostly used in TV productions and movies, the MFX can handle a lot of Advanced Authoring Formats all under a policy called Zero Divergence Directive. This should enable mixed MXF and AAF workflows between non-linear editing, making it perfect high-quality TV productions.

MXF vs. MP4: A Comparison

The key distinction between MXF and MP4 is their intended purpose of use. MXF, short for Material Exchange Format, was conceived for professional television, and some cameras nowadays do record videos in this format. MP4, also known as MPEG-4 Part 14, was developed by the Moving Picture Experts Group for day-to-day use. That’s the main reason for which MP4 files are so common and easy to work with. For a more advanced comparison between MXF and MP4 files, you can check out the table below:

Comparison Parameter MXF MP4
Developer Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers Moving Picture Experts Group
File extension .mxf .mp4
Video codecs MPEG-1,2,4, H.264, DV, uncompressed, others H.263, H.264, H.265, MPEG‑4, others
Audio codecs AAC, MP3, AC‑3, PCM, others AAC, MP3, AC‑3, ALAC, ALS, SLS, others
Usage Advertisements and broadcasting programs on TV, storing video recordings from Sony and Canon cameras Storing video files and streaming videos from the Internet

How does MXF compare to other media formats?

MXF isn’t really designed for user-friendliness. It’s a bulky format with a lot of overhead, poorly suited for personal use. Camcorders use MXF to avoid obsolescence - newer models tend to come with newer, faster codecs. That’s not the case on PC and Mac, where codecs tend to stick around for decades. All in all, you won’t see MXF replacing MP4 or MKV anytime soon.

Typical MXF-Using Camcorders

As camera vendors start adapting to Ultra HD, MXF becomes more and more necessary. Major manufacturers have adopted it as the standard for their recording hardware. Here is a list of camcorders that support MXF 4K:

Sony PMW-160, PMW-300K1, PMW-100, PMW-F55, PMW-320K, PMW-200,PMW-F5, PMW-F3, PDW-530, PMW-F3K,PDW-510, PMW-EX30, PMW-400L, PMW-500, PMW-F3L, PMW-400K, P, PMW-50, PMW-1000, MW-TD300, PXW-Z100, XDCAM HD422.

FAQ

This is where we will answer some of the most frequently asked questions in regards to Mac MXF files, as well as their features, and their compatibility with the users’ operating systems and needs. However, if you have any additional questions, feel free to leave them in the comments section below, and we will address them as fast as possible.

Yes, MXF is among the VLC supported file types, so if you have installed VLC Media Player, all you have to do is drag the MXF files in the main window in order to play them.

Simply download the file and run it, then follow the on-screen instructions to install.

Upload an MXF Video file for Conversion. Open the Movavi converter then click Add Media followed by Add Video.

Select the Format of your choice. Click on Video, then choose your desired output for the video format. And that’s it, just convert the MXF file to MP4.

Elmedia Player Free
Requirements: macOS 10.12+ , 104MB free space
Version 8.0(2800) (20 Jun, 2021) Release notes
Category: MultimediaApplication