Cookie
Electronic Team uses cookies to personalize your experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our cookie policy. Click here to learn more.
f

适用于 Mac 的快速下载应用程序

如何提高 Mac 上的下载速度:2022 年最佳解决方案

Ivan Korol Ivan Korol Sep 6, 2022

观看和下载电影、玩游戏、使用云存储等都需要稳定、快速的互联网连接。 下载速度慢不仅烦人,还会降低工作效率。

Mac 上的下载速度取决于许多不同的因素。 您使用的互联网连接类型、过时的网络浏览器、您的互联网计划以及您设备的技术问题都可能导致速度变慢和性能问题。此外,在后台运行的应用程序也会影响您的连接速度。 为了加快 Mac 上的下载速度,您有多种选择,其中之一是 Mac 下载管理器.

为什么 Mac 上的下载速度很慢?

有多种因素可能会导致 Mac 上的下载速度变慢。 最常见的包括:

  • Mac、Wi-Fi 路由器或网络上的 Wi-Fi 问题
  • 您的宽带提供商的网络问题
  • 过时或速度慢的网络浏览器
  • 恶意程序和文件
  • 您下载的网站存在问题

既然您知道了下载速度慢的原因,那么让我们来定义一下什么是下载速度快。 通常,如果数据传输速度高于 100 Mbps,则意味着您拥有良好的 Internet 连接,可以让您同时执行多个在线活动而不会出现重大中断。 但是,您可以采取一些 Mac 速度下载技巧和窍门来达到最佳下载速度。

速度慢的原因也可能在于您的宽带连接或无线网络。 由于您可以自己控制无线网络,因此除了使用速度下载应用程序加速器外,建议您优化和微调家庭或办公室 Wi-Fi 以获得更好的性能。

您可以通过明智地管理下载过程来提高下载速度。 下面,您将找到一些技巧,希望能帮助您提高 Mac 上的下载速度。

方法一:如何在 Mac 上提高下载速度:实用技巧

更新软件和固件

新版本的操作系统还可以提供更快、更稳定的网络。通过 Apple 菜单检查软件更新,以免错过任何内容。 Mac 用户应该做的另一种提高下载速度的方法是更新路由器的固件。使用新的固件版本,您的路由器可能会开始接收更好的 Wi-Fi 信号(如果您使用它),并且通常工作速度更快。

一次不要下载太多文件

很容易忘记,您已经开始了第十次下载,而其他九次仍然处于活动状态。但是,这会极大地影响下载速度。尝试暂停不太紧急的下载,以便为最重要的文件分配更多流量。

限制您的上传速度

分享是关怀,点对点的连接就是这样。但是上传的无限制设置也会影响您的下载。最好将您的 torrent 客户端上传速度设置为最大上传速度的 80% 左右。

另外,请尝试使用您的上传速度 - 最初将速度设置为较高,然后在下载过程中逐渐减慢速度。注意速度单位——它们可以是每秒千比特 (kb/sec) 或每秒千字节 (kB/sec)。 1 KB = 8 KB。

路由器的位置

路由器的位置也会显着影响下载速度。如果您通常在路由器附近使用 Internet,则可能没问题。但是,如果您的路由器位于物体后面或房子的角落,您的速度问题可能是由于距离或障碍物造成的。如果您想知道如何在 Mac 上加快下载速度并找到路由器位置的理想位置,我们推荐您使用 NetSpot,这是一款干扰监控应用。

检查您的 ISP

请务必检查您的 ISP 允许的最大下载和上传带宽。当然,torrent 下载速度不会超过 ISP 设置的速度。使用带宽测试仪查看您拥有什么以及如何增加它。您可以使用 uTorrent 的速度测试中包含的 speed.io 或 DSLReports。

调整您的路由器/ISP 的设置

关于“如何在 Mac 上加快下载速度”的另一个提示是检查路由器的当前设置。当您登录到您的 ISP 帐户时,您还可以检查各种设置。路由器上安装的默认设置通常不是最好的。访问您的 ISP 网页,详细了解哪些设置最适合您的路由器和下载速度。

检查网线

无论您使用 Wi-Fi 还是以太网连接,都有一根电缆进入您的公寓。它可能在某处弯曲、挤压或损坏,这会自动降低连接质量,从而导致 Mac 下载速度问题。检查您可以访问的区域中的电缆,或要求您的供应商对其“响铃”并修复可能的损坏,以确保互联网速度不取决于其状况。

使用以太网电缆

使用 Wi-Fi 会影响连接速度,因此建议通过以太网线连接,因为它可以快速提高下载速度。我们知道“如何在 Mac 上提高下载速度”这个技巧听起来像是 90 年代的,但你不应该低估它。由于它是有线连接,您不必依赖 Wi-Fi,因此此选项可能会为您的下载速度提供最快的连接。

更换过滤器

请记住,Mac 下载速度缓慢问题的另一个原因也可能是低质量的过滤器。此类过滤器会影响 Wi-Fi 基础设施,因此用更优质的过滤器替换它们可以帮助您提高速度。

方法二:如何使用第三方应用加快下载速度

有许多第三方应用程序可以加快下载速度,最好的例子来自下载管理器。 我们已经分析和测试了当今最强大、最可靠的产品。 当谈到如何提高下载速度时,Mac 用户可以使用下面列出的应用程序。

滚动查看更多
Swipe tip
Folx PRO
Folx PRO
iNetGet
iGetter
FlareGet
Ninja Download Manager
Download Shuttle
Maxel
Leech
Progressive Downloader
Xtreme Download Manager
JDownloader
Persepolis Download Manager
Neat Download Manager
Free Download Manager
4K Video Downloader
多线程
多线程
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
下载调度
下载调度
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Apple Music 整合
Apple Music 整合
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
速度控制
速度控制
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
带宽优化
带宽优化
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
SoundCloud only  
代理支持
代理支持
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
浏览器集成
浏览器集成
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
密码存储
密码存储
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
洪流客户端
洪流客户端
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
自动恢复下载
自动恢复下载
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
macOS 10.15+
macOS 10.15+
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$19.95
$19.95
$29.99
$25
$19.99
$19
$9.99
$9.99
$6
$2.99
free
free
free
free
free
free

Folx

Folx

4.6 等级 基于 1889 + 用户 评论(796)
要求: OS X 10.9+
版本: v5.26.13983, 发行时间 13.11.2021 行说明
類別: 下载器

Folx 是 macOS 上最受欢迎的下载管理器和 torrent 客户端之一。 它通过将下载拆分为线程来帮助实现高下载速度。 Folx 为其用户提供了许多功能,使下载更加方便和快捷。 这包括下载计划、速度控制、内置搜索工具等。 除其他外,Folx 可以从您中断的地方恢复中断的下载。

Folx 提供免费和付费版本。 虽然免费版可以让您体验应用程序的全部功能,但 Folx PRO 解锁了高级功能。 因此,您可以更改每个种子的下载速度,受益于密码保存功能,甚至可以将下载分成多达 20 个线程。


这就是 Folx 成为高速下载器的方式。

icon pros 优点:

  • 轻的
  • 与 Apple Music 集成
  • 允许调整下载速度
  • 兼作 torrent 客户端
  • 提供下载计划。

icon cons 缺点:

  • 最高级的功能仅在 Folx 的 PRO 版本中可用。

支持的操作系统: macOS

结论: 一个多合一的互联网下载管理器,如果你想提高你的下载速度,Folx 是你作为 Mac 用户唯一需要的应用程序。 即使没有专业版,您也可以轻松管理下载的文件,不用担心中途掉线。

但是,当升级到 PRO 时,您可以解锁此应用的全部功能,还可以下载种子文件、与 Apple Music 同步音乐、决定下载完成后会发生什么等等。

以下是使用 Folx 在 Mac 上最大化下载速度的方法:

1
安装后打开 Folx 并为其添加下载任务。 下载将自动分成线程以提高下载速度。
2
如果您想手动设置线程数以加快下载速度,请在“拆分为”字段中选择 2 到 20。
3
单击“确定”并亲自查看您的操作如何提高 Mac 上的下载速度。

您还可以通过调整 Folx 设置来加快 torrent 下载速度:

1
确保传入 TCP 端口已打开(Folx > Preferences > Torrent > Network)。 这将允许您连接到尽可能多的对等点,并最终提高您的下载速度。
2

打开 Folx,导航 Preferences >Torrents > Peers 并启用以下选项:

  • DHT 网络
  • 本地同行发现
  • 同行交流
  • 首选加密对等体

JDownloader

JDownloader 是一款适用于 Mac 的开源下载工具。 使用此下载器,您需要指定下载文件的连接数。 正如我们之前提到的,连接数与下载速度直接相关。

使用 JDownloader,您可以选择何时开始下载、在需要时暂停下载或停止整个过程。 除了加快下载速度之外,您还可以自动提取档案、启用带宽限制以及其他设置。


使用 JDownloader 提高 Mac 上的下载速度。

icon pros 优点:

  • 完全免费
  • 允许您更改每次下载使用的带宽
  • 带有额外的功能,如自动提取档案、密码管理器。

icon cons 缺点:

  • 不提供与某些竞争对手相同的稳定性
  • 可能并不总是收到新推出的操作系统的更新。

支持的操作系统: macOS、Windows、Linux

结论:如果您正在寻找免费软件来从 Internet 下载文件而不必总是依赖浏览器,那么 JDownloader 就是您的解决方案。

当然,作为一个开源应用程序,您可能会在使用过程中遇到一些错误,但是,启动该应用程序的人会不断检查代码,您应该有一个很好的整体体验。

FlareGet

FlareGet 是一款一体化下载管理器,可供 macOS、Linux 和 Windows 用户使用。 它提供免费试用版,让您有机会体验其功能。

但是,当您升级到 PRO 时,完整的功能列表将被解锁。 之后,您将获得惊人的快速下载和智能文件管理。 此外,该应用程序带有增强的浏览器集成,因此您可以立即开始下载。 即使断开连接,您也可以随时从中断处继续,而无需重新开始。


使用提供智能文件管理功能的 FlareGet 加快 Mac 上的下载速度。

icon pros 优点:

  • 提供智能文件管理功能
  • 轻松与任何浏览器集成
  • 支持批量下载。

icon cons 缺点:

  • 没有带宽控制,也没有下载完成后的任何操作。

支持的操作系统: macOS、Windows、Linux

结论: 如果您想要通过 Safari 或您正在使用的 Internet 浏览器下载文件的替代方法,FlareGet 值得一试。 很高兴它带有免费试用版,但是,真正的力量在 PRO 版本中释放出来。 智能文件管理是此应用必须提供的首要功能。

Ninja Download Manager

我们将继续使用 Ninja Download Manager. 为 macOS 提供下载管理器列表。 如果您正在积极寻找如何在 Mac 上加快下载速度的答案,您也应该探索这个工具。

该应用程序有一个非常有趣的用户界面,还具有许多功能,如顺序文件写入,它允许您在文件完全下载之前开始预览文件。 除此之外,您还可以获得批量下载、完整的速度控制、下载计划等等。


您可以使用 NDM 在 Mac 上加快下载速度。

icon pros 优点:

  • 具有多种有用功能的轻量级应用程序
  • 允许设置特定的下载限制和时间表
  • 用作密码管理器。

icon cons 缺点:

  • 没有试用版。 要使用该应用程序,您需要完全下载它。

支持的操作系统: macOS、Windows

结论: 一个非常强大的 Mac 下载管理器,如果它也有一个不错的免费试用版,它可以轻松地在我们的列表中占据首位。 但是,由于无法检查应用程序的功能和功能,用户更愿意选择其竞争对手。

方法三:使用浏览器插件

此外,还有一些浏览器扩展可以帮助您提高 Mac 上的下载速度。 它们可以免费使用,不需要安装额外的软件。 您只需要下载扩展并将其添加到您的网络浏览器。 下面我们将为您带来最好的浏览器扩展,让您在 Mac 上下载更轻松、更快捷。

Multithread Download Manager

Mozilla Firefox 专用插件是您所需要的,无论您从 Internet 下载什么文件,都想提高下载速度。 从本质上讲,它允许 Mozilla 使用多个连接到同一服务器并加快下载速度。 它带有 6 个并发线程,如果您对编辑配置有一点了解,可以将其提升到更多。


使用 Mozilla Firefox 的专用插件提高 Mac 上的下载速度。

Turbo Download Manager v3

如果您希望 Chrome 浏览器扩展中包含独立下载管理器的全部功能, Turbo Download Manager v3 值得您关注。 这个附加组件允许您暂停和恢复下载、远程获取文件,当然,还可以使用多线程技术来提高速度。

此外,Turbo 下载管理器 v3 带有可轻松检测图像和媒体源的内部模块。 它还具有内置的 M3U8 解析器和实时流下载器,可让您下载实时视频。


这个 Chrome 插件允许您暂停和恢复下载,并使用多线程技术来提高速度。

DownThemAll

如果您想知道如何使用浏览器扩展程序在 Mac 上提高下载速度, DownThemAll 是一个非常易于使用且功能强大的扩展程序,用于提高 Mac 上的下载速度。 它允许您完全控制计算机上的任何下载过程。 DownThemAll 可用于提高下载速度,它还可以作为出色的下载管理器,让您更好地组织下载


您可以使用易于使用且功能强大的浏览器扩展程序在 Mac 上加快下载速度。

了解 Mac 上的下载/上传速度

如果您想知道“为什么我的 Mac 下载这么慢”,请确保您当前没有运行任何可能占用您带宽的下载或其他程序。 运行速度测试并检查 Mac 上的下载和上传速度。 您可以转到专用应用程序或手动执行以查看您的下载速度。


手动解决方案

检查 Mac 下载/上传速度的方法之一是 Activity Monitor,它是一个实用程序,可监控 Mac 的活动(例如 CPU 使用率),并保持计算机平稳运行。


使用活动监视器检查 Mac 的下载/上传速度

1
打开 Finder 并导航到“应用程序”>“实用程序”文件夹。
2
双击启动活动监视器应用程序。
3

在 Mac 上的“活动监视器”窗口中,选择“网络”选项卡。 在这里,您将看到您的 Mac 通过网络发送和接收的数据量:Data Received/Sec 表示下载速度,而 Data Sent/Sec 表示上传速度。

“网络”标签还定义了正在积极使用您的网络的应用程序。

如果您遇到网络性能问题,请检查应用程序是否中断了网络连接。

专用应用解决方案

您可以使用 Speedtest 等专用应用了解 Mac 的下载速度。 它旨在帮助 Mac 用户检查其 Internet 连接的速度和性能。 使用这款快速下载应用,您可以直接从 macOS 菜单栏运行测试。


了解如何使用 Speedtest 了解 Mac 上的下载速度。

1
前往 Mac App Store 并下载 Speedtest。
2
打开应用程序并单击“开始”按钮。 Speedtest 将启动其测试。 完成后,结果将显示在同一窗口中。
此外,您可以在线检查您的下载/上传测试。 只需浏览 SpeedTest 官方网站,然后单击“Go”。 速度测试将在几秒钟内开始。

结论

下载速度取决于许多因素。 其中一些是您无法企及的,但有些是可以解决的。 幸运的是,您可以采取许多解决方案和方法来排除故障并提高 Mac 的速度。 调整下载速度最简单方便的方法是使用专用软件。 加快下载速度的最佳选择是 Folx,它是一款快速且用户友好的下载管理器和 Torrent 客户端。

经常问的问题:

为了加快下载速度,您需要一个专用的 Internet 下载管理器 Mac 软件。 Folx 是从 Internet 下载大文件的最佳应用程序,它还具有许多功能,可为您提供完整的体验。
要检查 Mac 上的下载速度,只需转到 Finder > 应用程序 > 实用程序。 Activity Monitor 窗口将打开,您需要在其中选择 Network 选项卡。 在这里,您将看到下载和上传速度。

首先,我们建议您检查您的网速。 这样你就会明白下载速度慢的原因。 您可以手动检查上传速度,也可以使用 Speedtest 等特殊程序。 如果报告的速度远低于您的 Internet 计划的宣传速度,那么您的连接速度很慢。

有一些方法可以提高上传速度:您可以尝试使用有线连接,清除缓存和历史记录,并确保您的设备没有任何病毒。 连接到同一网络的多个设备也可能会降低上传速度。 或者参考 Folx, Mac 的最佳下载管理器, 它通过将下载拆分为线程来帮助您加快下载速度。

在 Mac 上提高下载速度的唯一方法是使用专用的 Internet 下载管理器,例如 Folx。 我们推荐 Folx,因为它提供了所有可用应用程序中最好的服务,并具有一系列功能,例如 下载计划 选项,您有机会在免费试用版中发现它的好处。
Folx
要求: OS X 10.9+ , 18.02MB 大小
版本 5.26.13983 (13.11.2021) 行说明
類別: UtilitiesApplication

Cookie
Electronic Team uses cookies to personalize your experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our cookie policy. Click here to learn more.
f

Speed download app for Mac

How to Increase Download Speed on Mac: Top Solutions in 2022

Ivan Korol Ivan Korol Aug 4, 2022

Watching and downloading movies, playing games, using cloud storage, etc. requires a stable and fast Internet connection. Slow downloading is not only annoying but also reduces productivity.

The download speed on your Mac depends on a number of different factors. The type of Internet connection you’re using, an outdated web browser, your internet plan, and technical issues with your device can cause slowdowns and performance issues. In addition, apps running in the background also affect your connection speed. To speed up downloads on Mac, you have several options, one of which is the download manager for Mac.

Why are downloads slow on your Mac?

There are various factors that may cause slow downloads on your Mac. The most common include:

  • Issues with Wi-Fi on your Mac, Wi-Fi router, or network
  • Issues with your broadband provider's network
  • An outdated or slow web browser
  • Malicious programs and files
  • Problems with the site you are downloading from

Now that you know about the reasons for the slow download speeds, let's define what refers to fast download speed. Generally, if the data transfer is above 100 Mbps, it means that you have a good Internet connection that allows you to perform more than several online activities simultaneously without major interruptions. However, there are several speed download Mac tips and trick you can do to reach the optimal speed for downloads.

The reason for your low speed can also be in your broadband connection or your wireless network. And since you can control your wireless network yourself, besides using speed download app boosters, it is recommended to optimize and fine-tune home or office Wi-Fi for better performance.

You can increase download speed by managing the download process wisely. Below, you will find some tips that should hopefully help you boost the download speed on Mac.

Method 1: How to increase download speed on Mac: useful tips

Update software and firmware

New versions of OS can also provide a faster and more stable network. Check for software updates via the Apple menu in order not to miss anything. Another way to increase download speed Mac users should do is to update the router's firmware. With the new firmware version, your router may start to receive a better Wi-Fi signal (if you use it), and in general work faster.

Don't download too many files at a time

It's easy to forget that you've started your tenth download while nine others are still active. However, this greatly affects the download speed. Try pausing less urgent downloads to allocate more traffic to your most important files.

Limit your upload rate

Sharing is caring, and the peer-to-peer connection is all about that. But an unlimited setting on upload affects your downloading too. It is a good idea to set your torrent client upload rate to about 80% of your maximum upload speed.

Also, try playing with your upload speeds – set the speed high initially and then gradually slow it down towards the middle of the download. Pay attention to speed units – they can either be kilobits per second (kb/sec) or kilobytes per second (kB/sec). 1 kilobyte = 8 kilobits.

Location of your router

The location of your router can also significantly affect your download speed. If you normally use the Internet near your router, you're probably fine. But if your router is located behind objects or in the corner of your house, your speed issues may be due to distance or obstacles. If you want to know how to speed up downloads on Mac and to find the perfect place for the router location we recommend you NetSpot, an app for interference monitoring.

Check your ISP

Make sure to check the max download and upload bandwidths allowed by your ISP. Of course, the torrent downloading speed won't go over what is set up by the ISP. Use bandwidth tester to see what you have and how to increase it. You can use speed.io or DSLReports included in the speed test of uTorrent.

Tweak your router/ISP’s settings

One more tip on "how to make downloads faster on Mac" is to check the current setup of your router. When you sign in to your ISP account, you can also check various settings. The default settings installed on your router are often not the best. Go to your ISP's webpage to learn more about which settings work best for your router and download speed.

Check network cables

Regardless of whether you use Wi-Fi or an Ethernet connection, there is a cable that enters your apartment. It can be bent, pinched, or damaged somewhere, which automatically degrades the quality of the connection causing speed downloading Mac issues. Check the cable in areas accessible to you or ask your provider to "ring" it and repair possible damage to make sure that the Internet speed does not depend on its condition.

Use an Ethernet cable

Using Wi-Fi affects the speed of your connection, that’s why it is recommended to connect via an Ethernet cable as it can quickly increase download speed. We understand that this tip "how to increase download speed on Mac" may sound like it's from the 90s, still, you shouldn’t underestimate it. As it's a wired connection and you don't have to rely on Wi-Fi, this option may provide the fastest connection for your download speed.

Replace filters

Please keep in mind that another reason for Mac download speed slow issue can also be the low-quality filters. Such kinds of filters can affect the Wi-Fi infrastructure so replacing them with more high-quality ones can help you increase the speed.

Method 2: How to speed up download speed using third-party apps

There are numerous third-party apps that can accelerate download speed and the best example comes from download managers. We’ve analyzed and tested the most powerful and reliable ones available today. When it comes to how to increase download speed Mac users can use the apps listed below.

Scroll to view more
Swipe tip
Folx PRO
Folx PRO
iNetGet
iGetter
FlareGet
Ninja Download Manager
Download Shuttle
Maxel
Leech
Progressive Downloader
Xtreme Download Manager
JDownloader
Persepolis Download Manager
Neat Download Manager
Free Download Manager
4K Video Downloader
Multithreading
Multithreading
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Downloads scheduling
Downloads scheduling
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Apple Music integration
Apple Music integration
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Speed control
Speed control
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Bandwidth optimization
Bandwidth optimization
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
SoundCloud only  
Proxy support
Proxy support
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Browser integration
Browser integration
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Password storage
Password storage
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Torrent client
Torrent client
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Autoresume of downloads
Autoresume of downloads
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
macOS 10.15+
macOS 10.15+
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$19.95
$19.95
$29.99
$25
$19.99
$19
$9.99
$9.99
$6
$2.99
free
free
free
free
free
free

Folx

Folx

4.6 Rank based on 1889 + users Reviews(796)
Requirements: macOS 10.12+
Version: v5.27.13991, Released 5 Oct, 2022 Release notes
Category: Downloaders

Folx is one of the most popular download managers and torrent clients for macOS. It helps to achieve high download speeds by splitting downloads into threads. Folx offers its users numerous features that make downloading more convenient and faster. This includes downloads scheduling, speed control, a built-in search tool, and more. Among other things, Folx can resume interrupted downloads from where you left off.

Folx offers both free and paid versions. Although the free version allows you to experience the full power of the app, Folx PRO unlocks advanced features. So, you can change the download speed for each individual torrent, benefit from password saving features, and even be able to split the downloads in up to 20 threads.


That's how Folx becomes a high speed downloader.

icon pros Pros:

  • Lightweight
  • Integration with Apple Music
  • Alllows adjusting the download speed
  • Doubles as a torrent client
  • Offers downloads scheduling.

icon cons Cons:

  • The most advanced features are only available in the PRO version of Folx.

Supported OS: macOS

Conclusion: An all-in-one Internet Download Manager, Folx is the only app you need as a Mac user if you want to improve your download speed. Even without the PRO version, you will be able to easily manage the files you download and lose the fear of getting disconnected halfway.

However, when upgrading to PRO, you unlock the full power of this app and will be able to also download torrents, sync music with Apple Music, decide what happens when the download is finished, and more.

Here is how to maximize download speed on Mac with Folx:

1
Open Folx after installation and add a download task to it. The download will be split into threads automatically to increase download speed.
2
If you want to manually set up number of threads to speed up download choose between 2 and 20 in the "Split into" field.
3
Click "OK" and see for yourself how your actions boost download speed on Mac.

You can also accelerate the speed of torrent downloading by tweaking Folx settings:

1
Ensure the incoming TCP port is open (Folx > Preferences > Torrents >Network). This will allow you to connect to as many peers as possible and ultimately improve your download speed.
2

Open Folx, navigate Preferences >Torrents > Peers and enable the following options:

  • DHT Network
  • Local Peer Discovery
  • Peer Exchange
  • Prefer encrypted peers

JDownloader

JDownloader is an open-source download tool for Mac. With this downloader, you'll need to specify the number of connections to download files. As we mentioned before the number of connections is directly connected to the downloading speed.

Using JDownloader, you can choose when to initiate a download, pause it whenever you need, or stop the entire process. Besides the fact you accelerate download speed, you can also auto-extract archives, enable bandwidth limitations as well as other settings.


Increase download speed on Mac using JDownloader.

icon pros Pros:

  • Completely free
  • Allows you to change the bandwidth used for each download
  • Comes with extra features like auto-extracting archives, password manager.

icon cons Cons:

  • Doesn’t offer the same stability as some of its competitors
  • May not always receive updates for the newly-launched operating systems.

Supported OS: macOS, Windows, Linux

Conclusion: If you’re looking for free software to download files from the Internet without having to always rely on your browser, JDownloader is the solution for you.

Of course, being an open-source app, you may experience some bugs along the way, however, the code is constantly checked by the people that launched the app and you should have a great overall experience.

FlareGet

FlareGet is an all-in-one download manager that can be used by macOS, Linux, and Windows users alike. It comes with a free trial that offers you the opportunity to experience its features.

However, the full list of features is unlocked when you upgrade to PRO. After that, you'll get amazingly fast downloads and smart file management. Plus, the app comes with enhanced browser integration so you can start your downloads right away. Even if you get disconnected, you can always resume from where you left off without having to start over.


Speed up downloads on Mac with FlareGet that offers the intelligent file management feature.

icon pros Pros:

  • Offers the intelligent file management feature
  • Easily integrates with any browser
  • Supports batch downloads.

icon cons Cons:

  • Doesn’t come with bandwidth control, or any actions after the downloads are finished.

Supported OS: macOS, Windows, Linux

Conclusion: FlareGet is worth a shot if you want an alternative to downloading files via Safari or the Internet browser you are using. It’s nice that it comes with a free trial version, however, the real power is unleashed in the PRO version. Intelligent file management is the top feature this app has to offer.

Ninja Download Manager

We’re continuing our list of download managers for macOS with Ninja Download Manager. If you’re actively looking for an answer to how to speed up download speed on Mac, you should explore this tool as well.

The app has a very interesting user interface and also comes with plenty of features like Sequential File Writing which allows you to start previewing files even before they are fully downloaded. Among other things, you also get batch downloading, complete speed control, download scheduling, and many more.


You can make downloads faster on Mac with NDM.

icon pros Pros:

  • Lightweight app with multiple useful features
  • Allows setting specific download limits and schedules
  • Serves as a password manager.

icon cons Cons:

  • There is no trial version. To use the app, you need to download it entirely.

Supported OS: macOS, Windows

Conclusion: A very potent download manager for Mac that can easily take the top position on our list if it also had a decent free trial version. However, without the ability to check the features and what the app can do, users prefer to choose its competitors.

Method 3: Use browser add-ons

In addition, there are browser extensions that will help you improve download speed on Mac. They are free to use and do not require additional software to be installed. You just need to download the extension and add it to your web browser. Below we will bring you the best browser extensions that will make it easier and faster to download on your Mac.

Multithread Download Manager

This dedicated add-on for Mozilla Firefox is all you need if you want to improve your download speed no matter what files you download from the Internet. Essentially, it allows Mozilla to use multiple connections to the same server and speeds up downloads. It comes with 6 simultaneous threads, which can be boosted to even more if you're a little savvy with editing the config.


Increase download speed on Mac using dedicated add-on for Mozilla Firefox.

Turbo Download Manager v3

If you want the full versatility of standalone download managers packed in a browser extension for Chrome, Turbo Download Manager v3 is worth your attention. This add-on allows you to pause and resume the downloads, get files remotely and, of course, use the multi-thread technology to improve speeds.

Also, Turbo Download Manager v3 comes with internal modules that easily detect images and media sources. It also has a built-in M3U8 parser and a Live Stream downloader that allows you to download live videos.


This add-on for Chrome allows you to pause and resume the downloads and  use the multi-thread technology to improve speeds.

DownThemAll

If you were wondering how to make download speeds faster on Mac using a browser extension, DownThemAll (or simply dTa) is a very easy-to-use and powerful extension when it comes to how to make download speeds faster on Mac. It allows you to take full control of any download process on your computer. DownThemAll can be used to increase download speed, and it also serves as an excellent download manager, allowing you to better organize your downloads.


You can  make download speeds faster on Mac using a easy-to-use and powerful browser extension.

Find out download/upload speed on Mac

If you are wondering “Why is my Mac downloading so slow”, make sure you are not running any current downloads or other programs that might hog your bandwidth. Run a speed test and check the download and upload speed on your Mac. You can go to dedicated apps or do it manually to see what your download speed is.


Manual solution

One of the ways to check your Mac’s download/upload speed is Activity Monitor, a utility that monitors your Mac’s activities such as CPU usage, and keeps your computer running smoothly.


Check your Mac’s download/upload speed using Activity Monitor

1
Open Finder and navigate "Applications" > "Utilities" folder.
2
Launch the Activity Monitor app by double-clicking on it.
3

In the Activity Monitor window on your Mac, select the "Network" tab. Here you will see the amount of data your Mac is sending and receiving over the network: Data Received/Sec indicates the download speed, while Data Sent/Sec points at the upload speed.

The "Network" tab also defines applications that are actively using your network.

If you are experiencing a network performance issue, check to see if apps are interrupting the network connection.

Dedicated app solution

You can find out your Mac’s download speed with dedicated apps like Speedtest. It is designed to help Mac users check speed and performance of their Internet connection. Using this speed download app, you can run the test right from your macOS menu bar.


Learn how to find out download speed on Mac with Speedtest.

1
Go to the the Mac App Store and download Speedtest.
2
Open the app and click on the "Go" button. Speedtest will launch its tests. Once completed, the results will be displayed in the same window.
Additionally, you can check your download/upload test online. Just navigate the SpeedTest official website and click “Go”. The speed test will start in seconds.

Conclusion

The speed of your downloads depends on many factors. Some of them are out of your reach, but some can be solved. Luckily, there are many solutions and things you can do to troubleshoot and improve the speed on your Mac. The easiest and convenient way to adjust your download speed is to use dedicated software. The best choice for speeding up downloads is Folx, a fast and user-friendly download manager and torrent client.

Frequently Asked Questions:

To make the download faster, you need a dedicated Internet download manager Mac software. Folx is the best app to download big files from the Internet and it also comes with plenty of features to give you a complete experience.
To check the download speed on Mac, just go to Finder > Applications > Utilities. The Activity Monitor window will open where you will need to choose the Network tab. Here you'll see your download and upload speeds.

First, we will recommend you check your Internet speed. This way you will understand the reasons why downloads are slow. You can check your upload speed manually or using special programs like Speedtest. If the reported speeds are much lower than the advertised speed of your Internet plan, then your connection is slow.

There are some ways to increase upload speed: you can try using a wired connection, clear cache and history, and make sure your device doesn't have any viruses. Multiple devices connected to the same network may also slow down the upload speed. Or refer to Folx, the best download manager for Mac, which helps you speed up your downloads by splitting them into threads.

The only way to increase the download speed on your Mac is to use a dedicated Internet Download Manager, such as Folx. We recommend Folx because it offers the best service among all the apps available out there, comes with an array of features like download schedule options and you have the chance to discover its perks during the free trial version.
Folx
Requirements: macOS 10.12+ , 17.89MB size
Version 5.27.13991 (5 Oct, 2022) Release notes
Category: Utilities