Cookie
Electronic Team uses cookies to personalize your experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our cookie policy. Click here to learn more.

Le meilleur lecteur WMV pour Mac

Microsoft a publié le format WMV en 1999, à utiliser avec Windows Media Player. Même s'il est devenu relativement populaire, son exclusivité Windows l'a coupé d'un public plus large, comme les utilisateurs de Mac. De nos jours, les fichiers WMV sont facilement accessibles sur macOS à l'aide de lecteurs multimédias tiers. Nous vous aiderons à choisir un lecteur WMV gratuit pour Mac en vous proposant des options de haute qualité.

Meilleur choix
Elmedia: universal video player
4.8 Classement basé sur 1531+ utilisateurs, Revue(793)
Meilleur lecteur .wmv pour Mac Titre: Elmedia Player

Excellent lecteur WMV pour Mac: Elmedia Player

Elmedia Player logo
Elmedia: universal video player

Sans aucun doute, la meilleure solution pour regarder WMV sur les appareils Mac est Elmedia Player. Elmedia prend en charge une large gamme de formats multimédias - fichiers tels que AVI, FLV, SWF, MP3, DAT, FLAC, M4V, DivX, MKV et, bien sûr, WMV. Il a beaucoup plus de fonctionnalités à offrir, comme l'aperçu des vignettes sur la chronologie et l'édition des signets. Vous pouvez rechercher des sous-titres et les enregistrer en tant que fichiers séparés, synchroniser la vidéo et l'audio et ajouter des pistes audio externes.

Ouvrir le fichier WMV sur Mac

Obtenez plus avec Elmedia Player PRO pour lire WMV sur Mac

Pour seulement $19.95, Elmedia Player PRO peut faire encore plus. Diffusez un nombre illimité de vidéos, d'audio et d'images depuis votre Mac vers des écrans plus grands comme les téléviseurs intelligents via AirPlay 2, DLNA, Chromecast ou Chromecast Ultra et passez en mode Image dans l'image. Elmedia Player PRO permet également un réglage personnalisé de la lecture vidéo, vous permet de prendre des captures d'écran et vous donne la possibilité d'ajuster la couleur et la police de vos sous-titres.

icon pros Avantages:

  • Lit une large gamme de fichiers vidéo, image et audio
  • Prise en charge illimitée du streaming
  • Capacité de capture d'écran illimitée
  • Créez et modifiez vos propres listes de lecture.

icon cons Inconvénients:

  • Problèmes possibles avec les anciens systèmes d'exploitation Mac
  • Versions Windows et Android indisponibles.

VLC Media Player - un lecteur WMV de longue date pour Mac

VLC Media Player existe depuis plus longtemps que la plupart des applications qui lisent WMV sur Mac. Ce lecteur vidéo open source et gratuit a la capacité de lire des vidéos à 360 degrés et des fichiers multimédias dans des résolutions allant jusqu'à 8K, ainsi que des vidéos compressées.

VLC est livré avec un ensemble étendu de fonctionnalités. Vous pouvez modifier la vitesse de lecture ou la qualité audio, et même ajouter des effets vidéo. VLC prend entièrement en charge les sous-titres colorés, les sous-titres supplémentaires et les pistes audio.

Cependant, l'un des problèmes de VLC est qu'il est difficile de trouver beaucoup de ces fonctionnalités dans le menu peu intuitif, ce qui peut rendre son utilisation frustrante.

Lecteur VLC WMV Mac

icon pros Avantages:

  • Lit pratiquement n'importe quel fichier vidéo
  • Peut configurer les paramètres de lecture
  • Fonctionnalité de liste de lecture complète.

icon cons Inconvénients:

  • Interface datée
  • Pas les meilleures performances en 4K.

5KPlayer - Lecteur WMV gratuit pour Mac

Si vous recherchez une option gratuite pour gérer l'intégralité de votre collection de vidéos, 5KPlayer est l'un des meilleurs moyens de regarder des fichiers WMV sur Mac. Vous pouvez ajouter toute votre vidéothèque à 5KPlayer, ce qui vous permet de trouver des vidéos via ce lecteur WMV gratuit pour Mac au lieu de les rechercher sur votre disque dur. Pour sauvegarder cela, vous pouvez également diffuser des vidéos directement à partir de YouTube, ainsi qu'utiliser AirPlay d'Apple pour afficher ces vidéos sur plusieurs appareils. Ouvrez à peu près n'importe quel format et personnalisez-le facilement grâce aux options polyvalentes de gestion de la lecture audio et vidéo.

Une chose à surveiller, cependant, est que la version gratuite de 5KPlayer est prise en charge par des publicités, ce qui peut vous ennuyer lorsque vous êtes dans les menus du lecteur. Heureusement, ils ne jouent pas pendant que vous regardez une vidéo.

5KPlayer pour ouvrir WMV sur Mac

icon pros Avantages:

  • Flux de YouTube
  • Prend en charge la vidéo à 360 degrés
  • Joue des résolutions jusqu'à 8K.

icon cons Inconvénients:

  • Intensif en ressources
  • Interface utilisateur discordante pour les nouveaux utilisateurs
  • Version gratuite financée par la publicité.

IINA Player - Lecteur Mac WMV gratuit mais puissant

IINA est un lecteur vidéo macOS qui vous aidera à ouvrir les fichiers WMV sur Mac. Cette application intelligemment développée offre aux utilisateurs des menus intuitifs et prend même en charge les commandes gestuelles pour faciliter la lecture de vidéos. Ses fonctionnalités le rendent idéal pour un écran Retina et répondent parfaitement aux besoins de chaque utilisateur, qu'il s'agisse d'un simple lecteur vidéo ou d'une application professionnelle de haute qualité capable de gérer chaque partie du processus de lecture. IINA peut s'occuper de tout ce que vous lui proposez.

Ouvrir WMV sur Mac avec Elmedia

icon pros Avantages:

  • Excellente interface utilisateur avec de nombreuses options de personnalisation
  • Ne noircit pas les affichages en mode plein écran.

icon cons Inconvénients:

  • Quelques problèmes de plantage lors du chargement de vidéos .avi.

Switch - Le lecteur Mac WMV idéal pour les professionnels

Si vous recherchez un lecteur vidéo capable de gérer une variété de tâches professionnelles, alors Switch est ce que vous recherchez. Conçu pour les professionnels des médias, vous pouvez non seulement lire des vidéos, mais aussi inspecter et ajuster les fichiers vidéo, ainsi que permettre le transcodage et la conversion de fichiers uniques pour assurer la lecture sur n'importe quel appareil. Convertissez le contenu Windows Media en fichiers MP4 pour le rendre compatible avec n'importe quel appareil.

Cette solution a été développée par Telestream, le développeur de Flip4Mac, qui a longtemps été le seul moyen de lire des fichiers WMV sur Mac via QuickTime. Il est livré avec plusieurs plans différents pour utiliser Switch comme vous le souhaitez, à partir de $9.99.

Regarder WMV sur Mac avec Switch

icon pros Avantages:

  • Vérifiez et comparez les fichiers vidéo
  • Qualité professionnelle
  • Lecture multiformat.

icon cons Inconvénients:

  • Licence PRO très chère
  • Seules les versions payantes sont disponibles
  • Une interface utilisateur compliquée peut être difficile pour les nouveaux utilisateurs.

Conseils pour choisir un lecteur WMV

Il est clair qu'il existe un tas de solutions de lecteur Macintosh WMV capables, mais nous voulons affiner cela encore plus avec une liste rapide de fonctionnalités. Faites attention à ceux-ci lorsque vous essayez de regarder WMV sur Mac.

Un bon lecteur WMV devrait:

  1. Prend en charge des vidéos de haute qualité comme 4K et 8K.
  2. Être compatible avec macOS Monterey.
  3. Soyez sans publicité.
  4. Soyez intuitif à utiliser.
  5. Ne pas être gourmand en ressources.
  6. Lisez des vidéos sans retard ni plantage.

Tableau comparatif des logiciels de lecture vidéo WMV

Nous avons sélectionné les meilleurs lecteurs WMV pour Mac dans un tableau facile à retenir. Trouvez celui qui vous convient ici!

Faites défiler pour afficher plus
Swipe tip
Top features
VideoDuke
Elmedia
VLC
5KPlayer
IINA Player
Switch Player
Prise en charge complète de plusieurs formats vidéo
Prise en charge complète de plusieurs formats vidéo
oui (AVI, FLV, SWF, MP4, WMV, MOV, DAT, M4V, MPG, DivX, MKV, etc.)  
oui (MKV, MP4, VOB, WMV, MPG AVI, etc.)  
oui (MKV, M2TS, MP4, AVI, WMV, FLV, etc.)  
oui (AVI, MP4, FLV, SWF, WMV, MKV, M4V, etc.)  
oui (MKV, AVI, FLV, AVCHD, WMV, etc.)  
Prend en charge plusieurs formats audio populaires
Prend en charge plusieurs formats audio populaires
oui (MP3, WMA, AC2, MKA, OGG, FLAC, AAC, etc.)  
oui (AAC, AC-3, FLAC, MP3, ALAC, etc.)  
oui (MP3, AAC, AC3, WMA, FLAC, ALAC, etc.)  
oui (AAC,FLAC, MP3, WAV, WMA, etc.)  
oui (MP3, OGG, ACC, WMA, AIFF, etc.)  
Permet le streaming WMV local à la télévision
Permet le streaming WMV local à la télévision
oui (PRO)  
oui  
oui  
non  
non  
Tuner vidéo intégré
Tuner vidéo intégré
oui (PRO)  
oui  
oui  
non  
non  
Permet la conversion vidéo d'un format à un autre
Permet la conversion vidéo d'un format à un autre
non  
oui  
non  
non  
oui (PRO)  
Fonctions d'amélioration vidéo simples: rotation, image miroir, retournement, etc.
Fonctions d'amélioration vidéo simples: rotation, image miroir, retournement, etc.
oui  
oui  
oui  
oui  
non  
Égaliseur audio intégré
Égaliseur audio intégré
oui  
oui  
non  
oui  
non  
Prise en charge intégrée des sous-titres
Prise en charge intégrée des sous-titres
oui  
oui  
oui  
oui  
oui (PRO)  
Permet l'accélération/décélération de la lecture des sous-titres (Synchronisation des sous-titres)
Permet l'accélération/décélération de la lecture des sous-titres (Synchronisation des sous-titres)
oui  
oui  
non  
oui  
oui (PRO)  
Prend en charge la recherche en ligne de sous-titres
Prend en charge la recherche en ligne de sous-titres
oui  
ajouter  
non  
oui  
non  
Accélération matérielle activée
Accélération matérielle activée
oui  
oui  
oui  
oui  
oui  
Active l'enregistrement d'écran
Active l'enregistrement d'écran
non  
oui  
non  
non  
non  
L'extension de navigateur intégrée lit directement les médias des sites Web
L'extension de navigateur intégrée lit directement les médias des sites Web
non  
oui  
non  
oui  
non  
Version gratuite
Free option
oui
oui
oui
oui
oui

Qu'est-ce que le format WMV Mac?

WMV, ou Windows Media Video, est un format de fichier vidéo compressé. Développé par Microsoft et utilisé dans plusieurs applications tierces différentes et permettant un partage facile sur Internet et par e-mail. Il permet la compression de fichiers vidéo volumineux tout en permettant une lecture de haute qualité, ce qui le rend incroyablement populaire auprès des stations de radio en ligne qui fournissent un flux continu de données. Sa similitude avec ASF signifie qu'il peut être empaqueté avec ce fichier ainsi qu'avec AVI, ce qui le rend optimal pour le streaming.

Qu'est-ce que WMV

Questions fréquemment posées:

Nous recevons beaucoup de questions sur la lecture de fichiers WMV sur Mac, nous voulions donc répondre à certaines qui reviennent souvent. Si vous avez d'autres questions, laissez-les dans les commentaires et nous y répondrons dès que possible.

convert-video-online.com est un excellent choix pour changer de format sans téléchargement. Il s'agit d'un convertisseur que nous allons vous montrer comment utiliser.

Tout d'abord, ouvrez le fichier WMV que vous souhaitez convertir. Changez ensuite la sortie en Apple et choisissez votre résolution dans la liste donnée. Vous pouvez également simplement sélectionner .mp4 qui est l'un des types de fichiers les plus utilisés pour Apple. Appuyez sur convertir, puis lisez le fichier et vous commencerez automatiquement à le lire dans QuickTime.

VLC est un choix populaire lorsqu'il s'agit de lire des fichiers WMV sous Windows. Cependant, certains problèmes peuvent survenir lorsque vous l'utilisez avec Mac. Pour un meilleur service, vous pouvez compter sur Elmedia WMV Player pour vous donner accès à ces fichiers, ainsi qu'à une vaste gamme d'autres formats populaires.

Il n'y a pas vraiment de bonne ou de mauvaise réponse ici. Cela dépend principalement de l'utilisation de l'application qui déterminera quel format vous conviendrait le mieux.

Le MP4 est plus largement préféré en raison de son incroyable compatibilité et de sa polyvalence, en particulier avec les appareils portables. Et comme WMV ne fonctionne qu'avec les appareils et les systèmes alimentés par Microsoft, MP4 est votre meilleure option si vous allez utiliser des choses comme Mac, Linux ou UNIX.

Mais si vous allez utiliser un appareil alimenté par Microsoft comme Windows, Lumia ou des tablettes Windows, alors WMV serait mieux pour vous.

Malheureusement non.

QuickTime Player ne prend pas en charge le format de fichier WMV. Donc, de manière réaliste, il existe deux options que vous pouvez utiliser pour lire n'importe quel fichier WMV sur Mac:

  1. Téléchargez et utilisez une application tierce (qui prend en charge le format WMV) comme Elmedia Player, VLC Player ou 5KPlayer.
  2. Convertissez les fichiers WMV dans un format compatible (MOV ou MP4) pour QuickTime Player à l'aide d'un logiciel de conversion vidéo ou d'un convertisseur en ligne comme convert-video-online.com.
Flip4Mac était une ressource, temporairement prise en charge par Microsoft, qui permettait à WMV de s'exécuter sur QuickTime Player. Son composant permettrait aux fichiers WMV d'être lus sur QuickTime Player, mais Flip4Mac n'est plus pris en charge par les appareils macOS exécutant OS X El Capitan (10.11) ou une version plus récente.
Elmedia: universal video player
Conditions: macOS 10.12+ , 89.2MB espace disponible
Version 8.8(3188) (le 19 Sept, 2022) Notes de mise à jour
Catégorie: MultimediaApplication

Top 5 WMV Players to Easily Open WMV Files on Mac

Elmedia logo
Top choice
Elmedia 4.8 Rank based on 463+ users, Reviews(367)

WMV (Windows Media Video) was developed by Microsoft in 1999 for playing video files. It started on Windows Media Player, and has since found support on virtually every other video player out there. Unfortunately, it hasn’t been playable on Mac since 2006, unless you use another, non-Mac-native video player. And while there are literally dozens of third-party video files out there, finding a trustworthy video player today can be pretty tough. That’s why we’ve put together five of the best video player options, and explain to you why they’re the best ones out there.

1. Elmedia Player: The Best WMV
Player for Mac

Elmedia logo
Elmedia Player
Requirements: OS X 10.9+. 59.68MB free space. Version 7.14(2226). (10 Aug, 2020). 4.8 Rank based on 463+ users, Reviews(367)
Category: MultimediaApplication

Without a doubt, the best solution for playing WMV files on a Mac device is Elmedia Player. It supports a wide range of media formats, not just video. No additional codecs or plugins needed, you can directly play files like AVI, FLV, SWF, MP4, MOV, MP3, DAT, FLAC, M4V, MPG, DivX, MKV, and of course, WMV.

Elmedia WMV Player

Get more with Elmedia Player PRO for playing
WMV on Mac

For just $19.95, Elmedia Player PRO can download WMV files, stream unlimited video, audio, and pictures from your Mac to bigger screens like Smart TVs via AirPlay, Chromecast, Chromecast Ultra, or any other DLNA-enabled feature they may have. Elmedia Player PRO also allows for custom-tuning of video playback, lets you take screenshots, and gives you the ability to adjust the color and font of your subtitles.

Plaing WMV with Elmedia

Pros:

  • Plays a wide range of video, image, and audio files.
  • Unlimited streaming support.
  • Unlimited screenshot capability.
  • Create and curate your own playlists.

Cons:

  • Possible issues with older Mac operating systems.
  • Windows and Android versions unavailable.

2. VLC Media Player

Few apps that play WMV on Mac have the history that VLC Media Player does. This open-source and free to download video player has the ability to play 360-degree videos and media files up to 8K resolution, as well as videos in compressed file formats.

VLC also comes with a pretty expansive variety of features. You can modify the playback or audio quality, and even add filters to change the look of individual clips. They also work with synchronous subtitles for when you’re watching with no sound.

However, one of the problems VLC has is that it’s hard to find a lot of these features in the less-than-intuitive menu, which can make it frustrating to use.

VLC Media Player

Pros:

  • Plays virtually any video file.
  • Modify playback quality.
  • Supports plugins.

Cons:

  • Old interface.
  • Some problems playing 4K videos.

3. 5KPlayer

If you’re looking for a free option to manage your entire video collection, then 5KPlayer is one of the best ways to watch WMV files on Mac. You can add your entire video library from your computer to 5KPlayer, which allows you to find videos via 5KPlayer instead of looking for them on your hard drive. To back that up, you can also stream videos straight from YouTube, as well as use Apple’s AirPlay to display those videos over multiple devices. And those videos can be in just about any format possible, and can be customized pretty easily thanks to the versatile audio and video playback management options.

Something to look out for is that the free version of 5KPlayer is supported by ads, which can annoy you while you’re in the player’s menus. Thankfully, they don’t play while you’re watching a video, though.

5KPlayer

Pros:

  • Streams from YouTube.
  • Supports 360-degree video.
  • Plays resolutions up to 8K.

Cons:

  • Resource-Intensive.
  • Jarring user interface for new users.
  • Ad-Supported free version.

4. IINA Player

A dedicated macOS video player to open WMV files on Mac is IINA Player. This smartly-developed app provides users with easy-to-use menus and even supports gesture controls to make playing videos much easier. The features in this player make them ideal for watching with a Retina screen, and it’s perfect for all users’ needs, whether they need a simple video player or a high-quality professional player that can handle every part of the playback process, IINA can take care of anything you put up to it.

IINA Player

Pros:

  • Excellent user interface with plenty of customization options.
  • Doesn’t black out displays in full screen mode.

Cons:

  • Some crash problems when loading .avi videos.

5. Switch

And if you’re looking for a video player that can handle a variety of web and professional formats, then Switch is what you’re looking for. Designed for media professionals, not only can you play videos, you can inspect, adjust the video files, as well as allowing single file transcoding and file conversion to ensure playback on any device. All you need to do is utilize the conversion to change Windows Media content into MP4 files to make it compatible with any device out there.

This device was developed by Telestream, the developers of Flip4Mac, which was the only way of playing WMV files on Mac via QuickTime for a very long time. It comes with several different plans to use Switch the way you want to, starting at $9.99.

Switch Player

Pros:

  • Big variety of features to video playback.
  • Multi-format playback.

Cons:

  • Only has paid versions.
  • Complicated user interface may be hard for new users.

Tips to choose a WMV player

So we’ve presented a bunch of capable Macintosh WMV player solutions, but we want to narrow that down even further with a quick list of features people should be looking for when trying to watch WMV on Mac.

A good WMV player should:

  1. Support high-quality videos like 4K and 8K.
  2. Be compatible with macOS Catalina.
  3. Be ad-free.
  4. Be intuitive to use.
  5. Not resource-intensive.
  6. Plays videos without delays or breaking.

Comparison table of WMV video player software

We've curated the best WMV players for Mac in one easy-to-remember chart. Find the right one for you right here!

Scroll to view more
Swipe tip
Top features
VideoDuke
Elmedia
VLC
5KPlayer
IINA Player
Switch Player
Complete support for several video formats
Complete support for several video formats
yes (AVI, FLV, SWF, MP4, WMV, MOV, DAT, M4V, MPG, DivX, MKV, etc.)  
yes (MKV, MP4, VOB, WMV, MPG AVI, etc. )  
yes (MKV, M2TS, MP4, AVI, WMV, FLV, etc.)  
yes ( AVI, MP4, FLV, SWF, WMV, MKV, M4V, etc. )  
yes (MKV, AVI, FLV, AVCHD, WMV, etc.)  
Supports several popular audio formats
Supports several popular audio formats
yes (MP3, WMA, AC2, MKA, OGG, FLAC, AAC, etc.)  
yes (AAC, AC-3, FLAC, MP3, ALAC, etc.)  
yes (MP3, AAC, AC3, WMA, FLAC, ALAC, etc.)  
yes (AAC,FLAC, MP3, WAV, WMA, etc.)  
yes (MP3, OGG, ACC, WMA, AIFF, etc.)  
Allows local WMV streaming to TV
Allows local WMV streaming to TV
yes (PRO)  
yes  
yes  
no  
no  
Integrated Video Tuner
Integrated Video Tuner
yes (PRO)  
yes  
yes  
no  
no  
Allows video conversion from one format to another
Allows video conversion from one format to another
no  
yes  
no  
no  
yes (PRO)  
Simple video enhancement features: rotate, mirror image, flip, etc.
Simple video enhancement features: rotate, mirror image, flip, etc.
yes  
yes  
yes  
yes  
no  
Built-in audio equalizer
Built-in audio equalizer
yes  
yes  
no  
yes  
no  
Playback adjustment (audio/video delay)
Playback adjustment (audio/video delay)
yes  
yes  
yes  
yes  
yes  
Integrated subtitle support
Integrated subtitle support
yes  
yes  
yes  
yes  
yes (PRO)  
Allows subtitle playback acceleration/deceleration (Subtitle sync)
Allows subtitle playback acceleration/deceleration (Subtitle sync)
yes  
yes  
no  
yes  
yes (PRO)  
Supports online searching for subtitles
Supports online searching for subtitles
yes  
add-on  
no  
yes  
no  
Supports Picture-in-Picture
Supports Picture-in-Picture
yes  
yes  
yes  
yes  
no  
Hardware Acceleration enabled
Hardware Acceleration enabled
yes  
yes  
yes  
yes  
yes  
Enables screen recording
Enables screen recording
no  
yes  
no  
no  
no  
Built-in Browser extension plays media from websites directly
Built-in Browser extension plays media from websites directly
no  
yes  
no  
yes  
no  
No-cost version
Free option
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes

What is WMV Mac format?

WMV, or Windows Media Video, is a compressed video file format. Developed by Microsoft and used in several different third-party apps as well as enabling easy sharing over Internet and Email. It allows compression of large video files while allowing for high-quality playback to be achieved, which makes it incredibly popular in use with online radio stations who deliver a continuous flow of data. Its similarity to ASF means that it can be packaged with that file as well as AVI, making it optimal for streaming.

What is WMV format

Advantages of WMV File Format

WMV is one of the most common file formats used today. Here are some reasons why:

  • Since it can store large amounts of data (video and audio) in relatively small storage capacity, it can be easily shared online. This makes it the most ideal for streaming and sharing files online.
  • Since it was developed by Microsoft, it works best on Windows-powered devices. Although, many third-party apps use WMV as the default format.
  • Support for WMV format stretches to older Windows applications and versions.
  • High compression ratio - 2x more than MPEG-4.
  • No loss of quality with Windows audio and video formats.
  • Works well with web services like Google Drive, making it an optimal format for sharing content online.
  • Can be easily converted to other formats if the device isn’t optimized for WMV playback and editing.
  • Perfect file format for sharing video and audio through email due to its miniature size.

Disadvantages of WMV File Format

While there are tons of advantages with using this format, there are also a few disadvantages to be aware of as well:

  • Seeing as WMV format was developed by Microsoft, there are compatibility issues when trying to run WMV on Mac, so those require third-party apps to run it’s media files.
  • WMV files are equipped with Digital Rights Management (DRM), imposing licensing restrictions on files.
  • Delay in video transmission, which can be frustrating.
  • Small size can be a disadvantage at times, as some applications may run into errors because of how small the file size is.
  • WMV labeling isn’t so intuitive and easy.

Best WMV Player for MacBook

With so many great video players out there for MacBook, it can get hard to choose one. But when it comes to video players, there are just a few key factors to look out for before downloading. You want a video player that has robust processing power and is energy efficient. Why? Well, a power-hungry video player will really slow down your MacBook and make it difficult to enjoy your HD videos. And on top of that, you won’t get to enjoy them for as long as you’d like, if the video player isn’t energy-efficient. That’s why you want a video player that has both. Elmedia Player is our go-to recommendation. It meets both criteria and has tons of other incredible features, making it perfect for any MacBook user.

FAQs

We get a lot of questions about playing WMV files on Mac, so we wanted to answer several of the most frequent ones we get. We’ve compiled them here, and if you have any other questions, leave them in the comments and we’ll answer them as soon as possible.
Free video players are a great option for anyone looking for an app that lets them play a range of different video files. VLC, Elmedia and others let you make use of a huge range of different files, including WMV. For our personal preference, we recommend the Elmedia Player. It’s a convenient way to stream loads of different content from Chromecast Ultra or AppleTV, or even to play YouTube content without ads.

https://convert-video-online.com/ is a great choice for changing formats without downloading. This is a converter that we will show you how to use.

First, open the WMV file you want to convert. Then change the output to Apple, and pick your resolution from the list given. You can also just select .mp4 which is one of the most used file types for Apple. Hit convert, then play the file and you will automatically start playing it in QuickTime.

VLC is a popular choice when it comes to playing WMV files on Windows. However, some problems can occur when you use it with Mac. For a better service, you can rely on Elmedia WMV Player to give you access to these files, as well as a huge range of other popular formats.

There’s no real right or wrong answer here. It depends mostly on the application use that will determine which format would be better for you.

MP4 is more widely preferred because of its incredible compatibility and versatility - especially with portable devices. And since WMV works only with Microsoft-powered devices and systems, MP4 is your best option if you’re going to be using things like Mac, Linux, or UNIX.

But if you’re going to be on a Microsoft-powered device like Windows, Lumia, or Windows Tablets, then WMV would be better for you.

Unfortunately, not.

QuickTime Player doesn’t support WMV file format. So realistically, there are two options you can go with in order to play any WMV file on Mac:

  1. Download and use a third-party app (that supports WMV format) like Elmedia Player, VLC Player, or 5KPlayer.
  2. Convert WMV files into a compatible format (MOV or MP4) for QuickTime Player with the help of a video converter software or online converter like https://convert-video-online.com/.

Flip4Mac was a resource, temporarily supported by Microsoft which allowed WMV to run on QuickTime Player. Its component would allow WMV files to play on QuickTime Player, but Flip4Mac is no longer supported by macOS devices running OS X El Capitan (10.11) or newer.

Elmedia Player
Requirements: OS X 10.9+ , 59.68MB free space
Version 7.14(2226) (10 Aug, 2020) Release notes
Category: MultimediaApplication
f

Try free WMV player for Mac - Elmedia Player